Regional Hyperthermia – Temperatur Example Prostata

Example Prostata

This is a patient with a prostate tumor. The measurement was taken with three sensors that were advanced to the level of the prostate in the rectum. When the sensors are positioned along the intestinal wall, they are very close to the intended target area. The two 250-mm electrodes were cooled down to 8 degrees Celsius. This leaves a cool sensation on the skin, but allows for applying a higher output in a way that is easily tolerated. The treatment lasted 60 minutes with a total power output of 543 kilojoules (kJ).

The measured temperature profile is quite similar for all three sensor readings. There was a continuous increase to 41 degrees Celsius, and a plateau above 40 degrees Celsius was maintained for approximately 30 minutes.

Conclusion: It is feasible to achieve temperatures in the high fever range in deep-seated body locations. This depends significantly on the utilized technology and its handling. The application of outputs above 500 kJ with the Celsius42 device is a challenging treatment that demands a lot from the clinical staff and the patient. Temperature targets around 39°C have their rationale as well and are fully justified. Temperature targets in the moderate range may even be more favorable, especially to support immunological therapy goals. High temperatures ranging from 40 to 42 degrees Celsius should be pursued, for example, to intensify the effect of radiation therapy after its application.

Limitations will occur in patients with significant layers of fat above the actual target area. The heavier the patient, the more difficult it is to achieve a sufficient temperature gradient through the fat layers, which absorb much of the externally applied energy.

Martin Rösch

The expertise of Martin Rösch has been closely linked to Celsius42 since the company's founding. As a formally independent contract employee, he has been dedicated to questions of clinical application for many years. He cooperated with customers – in particular with Dr. Hüseyin Sahinbas – to perform preclinical temperature tests and helped to design performance profiles. Moreover, he contributed input and advice on study designs and for many years gathered experiences in customer visits and in discussions with users of our and other hyperthermia systems. Martin Rösch has been an invited speaker on the topic of hyperthermia at oncology conventions in more than a dozen countries and has published articles on the topic in peer-reviewed journals.

Send email

Contact

Celsius42 GmbH
Hermann-Hollerith-Str. 11
52249 Eschweiler
Deutschland

+49 (0) 24 03 – 7829 230
Send email

Celsius42 Korea LTD
Gunpo IT-Valley, S-B102, 17, Gosan-ro 148 Beon-gil,
Gunpo-city, Gyunggi-do,
South Korea

+82-70-5208 7622
Send email

Information

Medical Blog
Sources
FAQ

Regionale Hyperthermie – Temperatur Beispiel Prostata

Beispiel Prostata

Hier handelt es sich um einen Patienten mit einem Prostata-Tumor. Gemessen wurde mit drei Sensoren im Rektum vorgeschoben auf Höhe der Prostata. Wenn die Sensoren an der Darmwand anliegen sind sie sehr nahe am beabsichtigen Zielgebiet positioniert. Die beiden 250 mm Elektroden wurden auf 8 Grad Celsius heruntergekühlt, was auf der Haut zwar einen kühlen Eindruck hinterlässt aber es erlaubt eine höhere Leistung gut tolerierbar zu applizieren. Es wurde 60 Minuten behandelt bei insgesamt 543 kJoule Leistungsabgabe.

Der gemessene Temperaturverlauf ist ziemlich ähnlich an allen drei abgelesenen Sensoren. Es gab einen kontinuierlichen Anstieg auf 41 Grad Celsius. Ein Plateau von von über 40 Grad Celsius konnte für ca. 30 min gehalten werden.

Als Fazit: Ja, es ist möglich Temperaturen im hohen Fieberbereich auch in der Tiefe zu erzielen. Es hängt wesentlich von der eingesetzten Technologie und von dessen Handhabung ab. Wenn >500 kJoule beim Celsius42 Gerät appliziert werden, ist dies schon eine herausfordernde Behandlung, die dem Betreuungspersonal und dem Patienten einiges abverlangt. Aber auch Temperaturziele um die 39 Grad haben ihr Rational und eine gute Berechtigung. Gerade zur Unterstützung immunologischer Therapieziele sind Temperaturziele im moderaten Bereich vielleicht sogar günstiger. Hohe Temperaturen um 40 bis 42 Grad Celsius sind anzustreben bspw. zur Wirkverstärkung der Strahlentherapie nach deren Anwendung.

Limitationen bestehen dann, wenn Patienten über dem eigentlichen Zielgebiet ausgeprägte Fettschichten haben. Je dicker ein Patient, desto schwieriger wird es durch die Fettschichten, die viel der von außen eingebrachten Energie absorbieren, hindurch noch einen genügenden Temperaturgradienten zu erreichen.

Martin Rösch

Martin Rösch ist mit seinem Know How schon seit der Gründung mit der Celsius42 verbunden. Formell unabhängig als freier Mitarbeiter hat er sich gleichwohl über viele Jahre hinweg um Fragen der klinischen Anwendung gekümmert. Gemeinsam mit Kunden – insbesondere mit Dr. Hüseyin Sahinbas - hat er präklinische Temperaturversuche unternommen und Leistungsprofile mitentworfen. Er war mit Input und Rat bei Studienentwürfen beteiligt und hat über viele Jahre hinweg Erfahrungen gesammelt bei Kundenbesuchen und in Diskussionen mit unserem und anderen Hyperthermie-Anwendern. Martin Rösch war ein eingeladener Vortragender auf onkologischen Kongresses zum Thema Hyperthermie in mehr als einem Dutzend Länder und hat in Peer-reviewed Fachjournalen zum Thema publiziert.

E-mail senden

Information

Literaturquellen
FAQ

Kontakt

Celsius42 GmbH
Hermann-Hollerith-Str. 11
52249 Eschweiler
Deutschland

+49 (0) 24 03 – 7829 230
E-mail senden