Hyperthermia works and is a beneficial complementary cancer therapy

This statement has been confirmed by a number of different studies conducted in recent years. Today’s post discusses superficial breast and chest wall tumors with specific reference to two studies:
A study on breast and chest wall tumors from the United States:

Ellen Jones et al.; Randomized trial for hyperthermia and radiation for superficial tumors; in: Journal of Clin. Oncology Vol.23.;13, 2005

as well as a current overview on the successful treatment of such tumors from Switzerland:

Markus Notter, Helmut Piazena & Peter Vaupel (2016): Hypofractionated re-irradiation of large-sized recurrent breast cancer with thermography-controlled, contact-free water- filtered infra-red-A hyperthermia: a retrospective study of 73 patients; in: International Journal of Hyperthermia, 2016 DOI: 10.1080/02656736.2016.1235731

Ellen Jones put together a carefully designed study with a total of 109 patients. She divided the patients with superficial tumors into two groups: one group received conventional treatment with radiation therapy, while the other group underwent the same radiation therapy with additional hyperthermia treatment. Prior to randomly assigning patients to one of the two groups, the team reviewed whether all of the corresponding patients were able to effectively respond to hyperthermia. A small number of patients who did not meet this criterion were not enrolled in the study.

The results showed that 42.3% of patients who received radiation therapy completely responded to the therapy. In contrast, the complete response rate was significantly higher at 68.1% in the other group, which had received additional hyperthermia treatment! It was consistently verified with careful temperature measurements that the desired warming had actually been achieved. That is easy to accomplish in superficial tumors, although the temperature was also consistently measured within the tissue itself. This aspect would have been more difficult in deep-seated tumors, which is why the authors selected this group of patients. Moreover, this significantly improved result with hyperthermia was not associated with any major additional side effects. A 3rd degree burn occurred in one case, but the patient recovered well. (Side note: burns are completely preventable with the measures we employ today – always provided they are conscientiously applied).

The results for patients who had received previous radiation therapy, i.e. those with recurring tumor growth, were nothing short of spectacular. In this group, the complete response rate to radiation therapy alone was 23.5%, but when hyperthermia was added to the therapy, a response rate of 68.2% was observed.

This impressive outcome caused the leading authority in the United States (National Comprehensive Cancer Network, US NCCN) to add this combination of radiation therapy and hyperthermia to its guidelines for the treatment of recurrent breast tumors.
In a separate study, the Swiss radiooncologist Markus Notter, now working at Inselspital in Bern, conducted an experiment with a very difficult group of patients and achieved amazing results. The trial involved patients with recurrent breast cancer after a first treatment (with radiation therapy and other treatments), in whom the cancer had spread widely on the skin. Many of these patients have large, weeping wounds that are difficult to treat successfully with conventional methods.

Notter used superficial hyperthermia with two water-cooled infrared emitters and placed great emphasis on concurrent temperature control, which is not difficult to accomplish in locations close to the surface. In his definition, the temperature in the target area had to range between 39.5 and 42 °C without exceeding 43 °C on the skin surface. Then - and this is essential to note - patients underwent immediate radiation therapy with hypo-fractionated 4 Gy within 1 to 4 minutes after completing the hyperthermia treatment, once a week. That also meant that the radiation dose was significantly reduced overall in combination with hyperthermia. The rationale of this treatment was primarily immunological, and the clinical results in patients were remarkable.

Patients with macroscopic disease showed a complete response (CR) in 61% of cases, and a partial response (PR) in 33% of cases. Only 5% did not respond and 1 patient experienced tumor progression. All nine patients with microscopic disease saw a complete, long-term tumor regression. Only grade-1 toxicities were observed as side effects. This revealed a new treatment format for a small segment of patients who would otherwise have had no prospect of a cure and would almost inevitably have been considered palliative cases. This publication has, for good reason, become the most frequently accessed original study in the “International Journal of Hyperthermia.”

These results are also confirmed by Paulo Costa, a specialist in radiotherapy from Porto (Portugal) who combines c42 capacitive hyperthermia with CyberKnife radiation treatment. At a European congress in May 2018 in Berlin, he reported the results of 12 patients with a relapse who were treated with 32 Gy (4 Gy each) and regional hyperthermia once a week. With a complete response rate of 83% after 9 months, this can be considered as a successful therapy option, and Dr. Costa concluded that this "may be an option for patients for whom there are no longer valid therapeutic proposals to offer."

Martin Rösch

The expertise of Martin Rösch has been closely linked to Celsius42 since the company's founding. As a formally independent contract employee, he has been dedicated to questions of clinical application for many years. He cooperated with customers – in particular with Dr. Hüseyin Sahinbas – to perform preclinical temperature tests and helped to design performance profiles. Moreover, he contributed input and advice on study designs and for many years gathered experiences in customer visits and in discussions with users of our and other hyperthermia systems. Martin Rösch has been an invited speaker on the topic of hyperthermia at oncology conventions in more than a dozen countries and has published articles on the topic in peer-reviewed journals.

Send email

Contact

Celsius42 GmbH
Hermann-Hollerith-Str. 11
52249 Eschweiler
Deutschland

+49 (0) 24 03 – 7829 230
Send email

Celsius42 Korea LTD
Gunpo IT-Valley, S-B102, 17, Gosan-ro 148 Beon-gil,
Gunpo-city, Gyunggi-do,
South Korea

+82-70-5208 7622
Send email

Information

Medical Blog
Sources
FAQ

Hyperthermie wirkt und ist eine hilfreiche ergänzende Krebstherapie

Ganz verschiedene Studien der letzten Jahre belegen diese Aussage. Heute gehen wir ein auf oberflächige Brust- und Brustwandtumore und beziehen uns auf zwei Studien:
Eine Studie zu Brust- und Brustwand-Tumoren aus den USA:

Ellen Jones et al; Randomized trial for hyperthermia and radiation for superficial tumors; in: Journal of Clin.Oncology Vol.23.;13, 2005

Sowie eine aktuelle Übersicht zu Behandlungserfolgen dieser Tumoren aus der Schweiz

Markus Notter, Helmut Piazena & Peter Vaupel (2016): Hypofractionated re-irradiation of large-sized recurrent breast cancer with thermography-controlled, contact free water- filtered infra-red-A hyperthermia: a retrospective study of 73 patients; in: International Journal of Hyperthermia, 2016 DOI: 10.1080/02656736.2016.1235731

Ellen Jones hat eine sehr sorgfältig angelegte Studie konzipiert mit insgesamt 109 Patienten. Sie hat bei den Patienten mit oberflächennahen Tumoren zwei Gruppen gebildet: einmal eine konventionelle Behandlung mit Strahlentherapie und zum anderen die gleiche Strahlentherapie plus zusätzlich Hyperthermie. Vor der Zufallsverteilung in eine der beiden Gruppen prüfte das Team, ob die jeweiligen Patienten – und zwar alle - auch wirklich ansprechen würden auf die Hyperthermie. Die wenigen Fälle, bei denen das nicht der Fall war, wurden nicht in die Studie mit aufgenommen.

Im Ergebnis haben nun 42,3 % der Patienten, die eine Strahlentherapie bekommen haben, umfassend auf die Therapie angesprochen. Wenn allerdings in der anderen Gruppe noch zusätzlich Hyperthermie gegeben wurde, dann war diese umfassende Ansprechrate deutlich höher, nämlich 68,1 %! Über sorgfältige Temperaturmessungen wurde stets verifiziert, dass die gewünschte Erwärmung auch tatsächlich erreicht wurde. Das geht bei oberflächennahen Tumoren gut - und gleichwohl wurde stets auch im Gewebe selbst gemessen; bei Tumoren in der Tiefe des Gewebes wäre dieser Punkt schwieriger gewesen; daher hatten die Autoren diese Gruppe an Patienten ausgewählt. Dieses deutlich bessere Ergebnis mit der Hyperthermie ging ohne größere zusätzliche Nebenwirkungen ab. Lediglich in einem Fall gab es eine Verbrennung 3. Grades, die aber in der Folge gut auskuriert werden konnte. (Nebenbemerkung: mit den Maßnahmen, wie wir sie heute verwenden – so sie denn angewendet werden -, sind Verbrennungen im Grunde gänzlich vermeidbar.)

Besonders spektakulär waren die Ergebnisse bei den Patienten, die zuvor schon einmal eine Strahlentherapie erhalten hatten, bei denen es sich also um ein Wiederaufflammen des Tumorgeschehens gehandelt hat. In dieser Gruppe gab es nur eine umfassende Ansprechrate von 23,5 % beim alleinigen Einsatz der Strahlentherapie. Wurde hier jedoch zusätzlich mit Hyperthermie gearbeitet, konnte eine Ansprechrate von 68,2 % beobachtet werden.

Dieses überzeugende Ergebnis führte dazu, dass in den USA die Leitbehörde (US NCCN: National Comprehensive Cancer Network) diese Kombination von Strahlentherapie mit Hyperthermie zur Behandlung von wiederkehrenden Brusttumoren inzwischen in ihre Leitlinien aufgenommen hat.

Ganz unabhängig davon experimentierte ein Schweizer Radio-Onkologe, Markus Notter jetzt am Inselspital in Bern ansässig, mit einer ganz schwierigen Patientengruppe und konnte erstaunliche Ergebnisse vorweisen. Es handelt sich um Patienten, bei denen ein Brustkrebs nach einer ursprünglichen Behandlung (mit Strahlentherapie und anderen Therapien) wieder aufgetreten ist und sich nunmehr großflächig auf der Haut ausgebreitet hat. Viele dieser Patienten haben nässende großflächige Wunden, die herkömmlich kaum erfolgreich zu behandeln sind.

Markus Notter setzte nun eine oberflächige Hyperthermie ein mit zwei wassergekühlten Infrarot-Strahlern und legte viel Wert auf eine begleitende Temperaturkontrolle, die oberflächennah ja auch nicht sehr schwierig zu bewerkstelligen ist. Er legte fest, dass die Temperatur im Zielgebiet zwischen 39,5 und 42 °C liegen sollte und dass sie an der Oberfläche 43 °C nicht überschreiten darf. Danach – und das ist wichtig zu beachten! - erfolgte eine sehr zeitnahe Strahlentherapie innerhalb von 1-4 min nach Abschluss der Wärmebehandlung hypofraktioniert mit 4 Gy nur einmal die Woche. Das bedeutet auch, dass die Strahlendosis insgesamt in Kombination mit Hyperthermie deutlich reduziert wird. Die Rationale dieser Behandlung ist primär eine immunologische und die klinischen Ergebnisse bei seinen Patienten sind beachtlich.

Die Ansprechrate bei den Patienten mit makroskopischer Erkrankung lag im vollständigen Umfang bei 61 % (CR), mit teilweisem Rückgang bei 33 % (PR), nur 5 % sprachen nicht an und nur bei 1 Patientin musste ein Tumorfortschreiten beobachtet werden. Alle neun Patienten mit mikroskopischer Erkrankung erlebten eine vollständige und nachhaltige Tumor-Rückbildung. Als Nebenwirkungen wurden nur Grad-1 Toxizitäten beobachtet. Damit bietet sich eine neue Behandlungsform für ein kleines Segment von Patienten, die sonst ohne Aussicht auf Heilung als nahezu unabwendbar palliativ einzustufen gewesen wären. Nicht ohne Grund ist diese Veröffentlichung die inzwischen meistgelesene Originalarbeit im Fachjournal „International Journal of Hyperthermia“.

Bestätigt werden diese Ergebnisse auch von Paulo Costa, einem Strahlentherapeuten aus Porto in Portugal, der in diesem Fall die c42 kapazitative Hyperthermie im Verbund mit einer Cyberknife-Bestrahlung einsetzt. Auf einem europäischen Kongress im Mai 2018 in Berlin berichtete er über die Ergebnisse von 12 Patientinnen mit einem Rezidiv, die mit 32Gy (je 4 Gy) und einer wöchentlichen regionalen Hyperthermie behandelt wurden. Mit 83 % vollständiger Ansprechrate nach 9 Monaten kann von einer gelungenen Therapieoption gesprochen werden zu der Dr. Costa schlussfolgerte sie sei: „eine Option für Patienten, für die es keine gültigen therapeutischen Angebote mehr gibt.“

Martin Rösch

Martin Rösch ist mit seinem Know How schon seit der Gründung mit der Celsius42 verbunden. Formell unabhängig als freier Mitarbeiter hat er sich gleichwohl über viele Jahre hinweg um Fragen der klinischen Anwendung gekümmert. Gemeinsam mit Kunden – insbesondere mit Dr. Hüseyin Sahinbas - hat er präklinische Temperaturversuche unternommen und Leistungsprofile mitentworfen. Er war mit Input und Rat bei Studienentwürfen beteiligt und hat über viele Jahre hinweg Erfahrungen gesammelt bei Kundenbesuchen und in Diskussionen mit unserem und anderen Hyperthermie-Anwendern. Martin Rösch war ein eingeladener Vortragender auf onkologischen Kongresses zum Thema Hyperthermie in mehr als einem Dutzend Länder und hat in Peer-reviewed Fachjournalen zum Thema publiziert.

E-mail senden

Information

Literaturquellen
FAQ

Kontakt

Celsius42 GmbH
Hermann-Hollerith-Str. 11
52249 Eschweiler
Deutschland

+49 (0) 24 03 – 7829 230
E-mail senden